This Man

unnamed

The man taught me how to be a man
His standards so high sometimes I don’t get his plan
A good name before money such his life preaches
Hard work makes room for you in high places;
I learnt from his perseverance outcomes.

The man taught me how to pray
Pray heartfelt, continued prayer
A relentless faith that doesn’t quit
A softness of heart, surrendered on his knees
Hours on end he spills his heart to his Maker
Whether in gratitude or in petition
He prays so passionately.

The man taught me real men love their family
Long travels, for months away
So his kids are well fed, properly clothed
Well groomed, well educated, ready for the world out there
Sleepless night just so that his kids will sleep well at night
Few clothes on his back, so that his children wear the best.

The man taught me
Do not follow the crowd to do evil, do not follow the crowd to do good
Do not follow the crowd.
He never follows, he is a commander, a pacesetter.

There are no enough pages to write Of the wonder this man is…

From whom I got my handsome face
And perhaps inherited my writing grace

RIP Dad.

8 thoughts on “This Man

  1. This is so deep and heartfelt…
    This man was know in close and far away places
    Respected by those who never even met him
    Cherished by his family because he poured upon abundance of wisdom
    Respected by friends and ordinary people because of his

    This man was weak in his knees only for God
    That is why he was strong in his faith and being
    Torch bearer and a beacon of light in places known and even unknown to him

    I feel like I knew this man personally
    I wish I knew this man personally
    In his wisdom I molded my own family

    This man was not an earth material; that is why he left too soon
    This man is in a better place where he belongs, where he’s always belonged

    A great man… May you rest in peace Sir. #forever remembered

  2. This is so deep and heartfelt…
    This man was know in close and far away places
    Respected by those who never even met him
    Cherished by his family because he poured upon abundance of wisdom
    Respected by friends and ordinary people because of his stature

    This man was weak in his knees only for God
    That is why he was strong in his faith and being
    Torch bearer and a beacon of light in places known and even unknown to him

    I feel like I knew this man personally
    I wish I knew this man personally
    In his wisdom I molded my own family

    This man was not an earth material; that is why he left too soon
    This man is in a better place where he belongs, where he’s always belonged

    A great man… May you rest in peace Sir. #forever remembered

  3. “This man” lives on thru people like whom he has impacted positively with his earthly life. 4 now, it’s just a GOOD NITE. There’s a resurrection morning.

  4. “This man” lives on thru people like u whom he has impacted positively with his earthly life. 4 now, it’s just a GOOD NITE. There’s a resurrection morning.

Leave a Reply

