To me today

As I get older
As grey matters
Turn into plain matters
Like black and white
As veils fall off my face
And light shines on this case
My heart beats with trepidation
As I stare at a congregation of men
Men who go to war in the wrong gears
Who return wounded
Arrow injuries in their rear
Others came back bound
At least, they’re better than the dead.

But this men started well
They got caught up in the storms
They lost focus, couldn’t come back to tell
As I mourn, as streams of tears well up
I wonder if I will end up like them.

So today, as I celebrate another year
I could ask for a girl,  not had one in years
A car, because my shoes are beginning to wear
A destination,  ’cause my passport’s stamps are disappointing
Extra money, a work appointment
A view of luxury from my luxurious apartment
But all I ask is the strength to end this race
At the predetermined pace
May I not lose focus at the loose of my shoe lace
May I go to war fully equipped, properly dressed
That at the end, may I have fought a good fight
I pray that I would confidently have finished my race
And a crown of glory shall await me from the Father of grace.

Happy birthday to me.

2 thoughts on “To me today

Leave a Reply

